Paris

Eodm Paris

I know we talked about Paris in the workshop but these photos were recently released and I found them quite interesting for a number of reasons. The picture of the crowd is interesting for a couple of reasons. For one, you can see the joy in the peoples face unbeknownst to the terror that they were about to experience. It was mentioned how the Daily Mail have used the picture saying ‘minutes before death’ or something but I feel as though these images should be viewed in a positive sense, remembering the fallen enjoying some of their final moments. The photo is also significant for me other reasons as well. One of these is that it shows how many people experience a concert nowadays. Many people watch it behind the lens and this can be seen by the cameras in the crowd. It has a link to the feeling that some people feel as though they have to take a photo to show they have attended an event. The final thing I like about the photo is Jesse Hughes is in it and he’s an absolute legend. When I first heard about the Paris attack the main thing I thought was “I hope the band got out safely” in hindsight I feel fairly guilty about this but everyone is drawn to different elements within the news that are personal to them. Eagles of Death Metal (they’re not death metal by the way) are one of my favourite bands and thats why I felt drawn to this picture.

 

Leave a Reply

