The innocence of children

child2 child

This week my mum went down the nostalgic path as I was 21 on Saturday and got out all my ‘childhood’ photos!  Whilst being incredibly embarrassing, it did intrigue me so I looked further into child photography.  I found these on a blog looking into the striking images created in black and white.    These photographs capture the youth and almost naivety of children.  I think these also depict the innocence of children and as Ian McEwan said ” It is the future they are innocent of. Fifty years on we look at them with the godly knowledge of how they turn out after all – who they married, the date of their death – with no thought for who will one day be holding photographs of us.”  These photos represent what is yet to come and the height of expectation especially with the second child looking out of the window.

From a composition point of view I love the reflection of the child’s face in the window, perhaps showing the modernity of photography and its ability to identity ourselves with it.  Continuing on from my post last week, the use of hands in portraiture is evident again, adding to the identity of the child.  The blog itself commentated on the striking nature of black and white photography which I agree, with the right image can heighten the image and draw the eye.  As Ted Grant stated, “when you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in Black and white, you photograph their souls!”.  He implied that we are not just seeing the features of the child’s portrait but are delving deeper into their character.  I love this kind of striking photography so tried to do the same with my sisters portrait.

Picture1

 

 

Leave a Reply

